H1 Photo Gallery
H1 Details

General Info

Hummer Dealers
Contact
Advertise

Sponsored Ads

Source Motors - custom. accessories.

Go Back   Hummer Forums by Elcova > Hummer H2 Discussion Forums > Technical Discussion and Customizing your H2

Old 10-17-2007, 03:07 AM
Hummer Veteran

OffRoadin is on a distinguished road
Default New with questions

Hi,

Just wanted to introduce myself... I'm new to both off roading and to Hummers. I purchased a 2005 H2 with the intentions of going off roading. I do have a few questions. Hope you don't mind me asking so many questions in one post...

1. How high (ground to fender) is the car supposed to be at all four corners. I heard that the front end is supposed to sit lower than the rear (stock). I'm wondering if the previous owner put on the leveling kit or "adjusted the torsion bars"? And if so how can I tell if the leveling kit or adjusting the torsion bars was done?
2. I plan on adding an HID kit. For those that have them, where do you mount the ballasts?
3. I've heard that stock, the H2 doesn't have enough power... Is the H2 really that underpowered? I plan on adding horsepower, but I know there's plenty of posts for me to read through on that.
4. I know this is a dumb question... But, I can't for the life of me figure out how to turn on the front fog lights. Is there a seperate switch.
5. I'm not a fan of chrome, but the H2 I purchased had the chrome package... How easy is it to change the mirror casings to standard?
6. What type of tires are recommend for what type of conditions? I'm learning everything from scratch. I have never owned anything but sports cars up till now.
7. Is a front locker essential... I kind of figure it depends on how "hardcore" I want to get, but for beginners is it a necessity?
8. Underbody protection... What stock parts can stay and what needs to be upgraded? Again I assume it depends on what I'm doing...