H1 Photo Gallery
H1 Details

General Info

Hummer Dealers
Contact
Advertise

Sponsored Ads

Source Motors - custom. accessories.

Go Back   Hummer Forums by Elcova > Hummer H2 Discussion Forums > Technical Discussion and Customizing your H2

Old 05-29-2007, 02:37 PM
Hummer Veteran

PewterPower is off the scale
Default New Plugs - Worse Gas Mileage ???

I have a 2003 H2 Lux with 84000 miles. I changed my plugs from the Factory Plugs to the Bosch Platinum Fusion plugs (4509). My gas mileage went from about 9.8 avg to 7.5...... Why would this happen ? I did not change the plugs for any other reason than I thought it was time (past time). I have an Airraid filter in the stock air box.

Any ideas ?
Old 05-29-2007, 03:29 PM
Hummer Veteran

H2 Doberman is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: New Plugs - Worse Gas Mileage ???

I'm no mechanic but it may take the computer a few miles to adjust to the change.
Old 05-29-2007, 04:05 PM
Hummer Expert

IRA51 is on a distinguished road
Talking Re: New Plugs - Worse Gas Mileage ???

Bosch plugs blow,use NGK or AC Delco. and always change the spark plug wires at EVERY plug change . also change the plugs with a cold engine never remove a plug from a hot or warm engine with aluminum heads and also use anti seize compound on the plugs and dielitric grease in the wires and any eletric conection under the hood . you may have f*cked up a plug wire when you removed it .check the summit or jegs catologe for some MSD 8.5 mm wires they do a nice job and have a very low resistance and are priced less than what the dealer has .
you have.
-- Thomas Jefferson
Old 05-29-2007, 05:57 PM
Hummer Professional

mdoyle is on a distinguished road

Ditto on Bosch bringing the "suck" when it comes to plugs. I had a similar experience in my old Tahoe with them and went back to AC Delco.

Same heat range, ect- Bosch performed poorly.
Old 05-30-2007, 01:23 AM
Hummer Novice

Carbine is on a distinguished road

Ira51 Quoted:
Quote: