H1 Photo Gallery
H1 Details

General Info

Hummer Dealers
Contact
Advertise

Sponsored Ads

Source Motors - custom. accessories.

Go Back   Hummer Forums by Elcova > Hummer H3 Discussion Forums > General H3 Discussion

Old 12-08-2005, 06:36 PM

Modley is off the scale

Here's the story:

Last week I noticed the engine was running a little rough at idle.
The following day the engine light came on and would not go out. I took my H3 to the dealer the following morning. After about 30 minutes they came back and told me I had the same problem as two others they already had.

I'm not a engine expert to any means so I will do my best to explain what I was told.

To the best of GM's ability they think the computer is running the engine too lean causing a overheating condition in the cylinder. This causes the valves to burn and make it not seat well. This in return causes a low compression problem thus the computer engine light.

GM has told them to replace the entire head and everything related and update the computer code to fix the lean problem They have also been instructed to send in all replaced parts for them to examine.

That was Sat I called today to check and see the status and found out the now have 5 with this problem.

This is looking very bad.

I had 12,000 miles the previous two had 7 and 9 thousand.

He mentioned that they had a problem with the Colorado at one time with a similar issue but GM says this is different.

He told me that the head has to go into a machine shop to get worked when they get the parts.

GM told him they are getting more and more of these everyday.

I wonder how long it will be before they start a recall. I guess when they determine the exact course.

I wish I had never bought my H3. I shoulda known better.
Old 12-08-2005, 08:30 PM

Modley is off the scale

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by DarthKarl: