PDA

View Full Version : Cost to swap out tensioner pully

ree
11-21-2006, 08:11 PM
I'm not a mechanic. But I know enough to know someone is trying to screw with me.

I took my wife's grand prix to a local shop because the tensioner pulley started screeching this morning. They claim the tensioner assembly is bad, but won't tell me what sort of tension readings they've gotten off the belt.

Unfortunately, replacing the assembly is a pain since it's integrated into the side of the ending and has some cooler lines going through it. So I decided to gamble with the old beast and ask them to replace just the pully. I'll get a second opinion on the tension measurement later. Bastards wanted to charge $65 for a pulley. I know that's wrong.

But then they claimed 1 hour labor to replace it!!!!! Isn't it just slip the belt off, remove the bolt, put on a new pulley, tighten a bolt, slip belt on??

Am I wrong to be angry? :rant::mad:

I'm becoming more of a DIY'er everyday.

ssgharkness020147
11-21-2006, 08:28 PM
Call Napa. Or look online, you can get stuff pretty much for cost (sometimes less). Either way I bet napa has the whole tensioner for less then the pully.

ree
11-21-2006, 08:46 PM
I plan to go this route. I checked out autozone and advanced auto parts on line and they both had pulleys in the mid $20's.

I was stupid to think I could save a little of my time by spending a little of my money.

I was just venting here since no one's around my home office right now to bitch to.

KenP
11-21-2006, 10:07 PM
Not sure how the belt is on the GP, but I had to take the wife's Lexus to the dealer to change a belt. Damn if I could 1) get a wrench to it and 2) see the nut.

Oh, the belt now screeches on start up when it didn't before.:crying: :rant:

ree
11-21-2006, 10:11 PM
Not sure how the belt is on the GP, but I had to take the wife's Lexus to the dealer to change a belt. Damn if I could 1) get a wrench to it and 2) see the nut.