PDA

View Full Version : buying a 1996 H1

twinturbo3150
01-13-2006, 08:24 PM
Hello everyone I am new to the Hummer H1 world and that is why I am here. Just test drove a 96 H1 with 55,000 miles, and here is my concern when applying the brake and I come to a complete stop the H1 actuall rocks back and forth 3 to 4 time, not side to side but back and forth and it did it every time I came to a stop. I even mentioned it to the dealer and the salesman even noticed it but didnt now what it was. His solution was that it was because of the full tanks? I hope someone knows what I am talking about, and can comment on the sitiuation.

twinturbo3150
01-13-2006, 08:36 PM
Here is a little more into its a 96 turbo diesel 4dr hardtop, with the little pickup bed in the rear, also has the winch up front, and safari rack on top, also has ctis and after market rims. and the price is 30,000 color is red, power door and windows, ac etc, etc, I would have bought it right on the spot but the rocking back and forth after coming to a complet stops worries me. any into is greately appreciated, and also is this a good price or to high?

Ground hawg
01-13-2006, 11:28 PM
This Is quite normal for any hummer prior to 2003( i thinkyears correct). partly to do with suspension setup but also becouse the gearing in the offset hubs being straight, i think it was afret 2003 the started to use conical gearing wich helped but not entirely. The shocks on the older hummers arnt that great either.

grnd hwg

Ground hawg
01-13-2006, 11:36 PM