PDA

View Full Version : fuel e85?

DH22G
04-23-2006, 07:07 PM
Can my Escalade EXT 2004 run on E85 fuel or my H2??? My friends explorer can so I was jsut curious if mine can too.

dochummer
04-24-2006, 12:56 AM
h2 can't according to the manual. http://www.elcova.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Aubs
04-24-2006, 01:29 AM
You would probably destroy the vehicle, not to mention the engine.

Gas engines not modified for E85 are not able to monitor the ratio of Ethanol to Gasolene and adjust the fuel feed accordingly. So my guess is that the engine would misfire horribly....

And no, modifying a gas engine to burn E85 is not cost effective.

dochummer
04-24-2006, 03:00 AM
http://www.abcesso.com/

DH22G
04-24-2006, 04:58 AM
so it is possible to easily modify my escalade to use e85? that site doesnt really tell me how $ it would be? it would be nice to be able to use gas and e85

dochummer
04-24-2006, 08:54 AM
From what I understand, and I've never used it before, but the box will help the vehicle run the ethanol more efficiently. The only modifications to the vehicle would be some fuel tubing, seals etc... that may not withstand the ethanol from breaking it down. But, I've also read that since the 90's, most vehicles should be able to run it with little problem. I doubt the vehicle would be destroyed, or the engine for that matter. But again, I've never tried. Through what I read, it pretty much sounded like their shouldn't be any problems....

Aubs
04-24-2006, 11:04 AM
You will most likely not effect any cost savings IMO because:
1. The alternative fuels market is in growing demand;
2. Aftermarket conversions are therefore probably highly demanded as well;
3. Ethanol is currently needed to replace MTBE as a clean-air additive, so the demand for Ethanol has skyrocketed.

Even if your engine runs ok, your emissions will increase horribly, my guess is from incomplete combustion.

Also ABCesso doesn't list HUMMER as a compatible brand, and I couldn't find the Escalde.