PDA

View Full Version : HID upgrades

Humvee21
12-12-2011, 05:36 AM
So I've been contemplating HIDs for my 2005. I think I've found a route that I'd like to take. I will be buying these projectors made for the H1 http://www.dashzracing.com/92-01-hummer-h1-projector-headlights-black-pro-7rnd-bk-a11.html and retrofitting them with a HID kit. Does anyone know if I will have trouble fitting the H2 bulb (9007) into these housings?

Also, what other suggestions might you guys have?

I've tried searching but many other options are very costly.

2010_5thgen
12-12-2011, 03:53 PM
i have a cheap HID kit from ebay in mine. 55 watt ballast with 6000K color. cost me 50 bucks a set and they work great. i keep a spare set in case i get a burn out. but ive had them in for almost 2 years now and havent had any issues.

Humvee21
12-12-2011, 03:59 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong here, but aren't the stock H2 headlight reflectors for halogens? If so, wouldn't putting HIDs in combination with the stock reflectors make it illegal?

A couple questions about your experience:
1. Have you received any complaints (flashes) from oncoming traffic?
2. Where did you mount the ballast/how (pics if possible)?

thanks in advanced!

2010_5thgen
12-12-2011, 04:21 PM
ive gotten a few flashes from on coming drivers, but then again i got flashes with the regular halogen bulbs. i mounted the ballast rightby the back of the headlight. theres 3 bolts that hold the headlight housing in. i just used one of those the hold it in place. dont go with a kit that has HID hi beams. i havent been able to getthem to work. i have halogen Hi beam and HID low. the halogen hi beams are a joke, but you can still flash them if you get flashed at. the HID Hi beam kits need grounded out and it runs alot more wires. i never got them to work so i only use the low beams HID.

Humvee21
12-12-2011, 06:11 PM
Another question: