Hummer Forums by Elcova

Hummer Forums by Elcova (http://www.elcovaforums.com/forums/index.php)
-   General H1 Discussion (http://www.elcovaforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   H1 fuel filter replacement (http://www.elcovaforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35162)

familyguy 08-22-2008 05:59 PM

H1 fuel filter replacement

I'm new to Hummer ownership, I just bought a 2000 H1 softop about 2.5 months ago. I can't resist sidetracking for a minute.....for the past two months, I have been on an around the country camping trip with my 3 boys and wife, where I pulled my restored Airstream travel trailer through 28 states and about 10k miles. We had a fantastic time, was able to experience tons of national parks and classic tourist sites of our great county, and going that far in a H1 while pulling the trailer went much better than expected.

My question is in regard to the fuel filter...I scanned the old threads and could not find this topic, sorry if I'm repeating a previous question. I completed most of the 12k service items prior to leaving on the trip and had an A level service done at about the midpoint of the trip. One item I did not complete was changing the fuel filter because I have heard horror stories about this and was not able to find much documentation on how to do it. ( I purchased the factory service manual on CD ) Could anyone point me to documentation on the correct procedure for changing the fuel filter? Thanks in advance!

Planohummer 08-22-2008 06:08 PM

Re: H1 fuel filter replacement

The horror stories center around a lift pump that wasn't working and thus wouldn't re-prime the filter after replaced(truck will run without pump working, just won't have full power under load).
EZ way to check the lift pump:
open pitcock driver side(has a rollpin through brass tee), turn on key and see if fuel runs out fuel line hanging down. If not, don't replace filter until lift pump is replaced.